Thorny-headed worms

Description and pathology of Neoechinorhynchus idahoensis n. sp. (Acanthocephala: Neoechinorhynchidae) in Catostomus columbianus from Idaho

Publication Type:Journal Article
Year of Publication:1992
Authors:O. M. Amin, Heckmann R. A.
Journal:Journal of ParasitologyJ. PARASITOL.
Pagination:34 - 39
Date Published:1992///
ISBN Number:00223395 (ISSN)
Keywords:Acanthocephala, animal, animal experiment, article, Cypriniformes, Female, fish, Fish Diseases, Helminthiasis, histology, Idaho, Intestinal Diseases, Parasitic, Intestinal Mucosa, Intestines, Male, morphology, nonhuman, pathogenicity, species description, taxonomy

Neoechinorhynchus idahoensis is described from Catostomus columbianus caught in the Salmon River, Stanley Basin, Idaho. The new species is closest to Neoechinorhynchus venustus Lynch, 1936, but is distinguished from it by its smaller and variably structured eggs, anterio-dorsal trunk hump, bent and posteriorly notched proboscis receptacle, and larger proboscis, proboscis receptacle, and hooks. It is distinguished also from 2 other species of Neoechinorhynchus with proboscis hooks in middle and anterior circles about equally large and from 7 other species having lemnisci greatly unequal in length. Histopathology of host tissue showed limited host response exemplified by epithelial damage and hemorrhaging at point of proboscis attachment with subsequent macrophage and other phagocytic cell migration. The proboscis extended through the host epithelium into the submucosa with limited hemorrhaging at the point of attachment. Unorganized collagenous fibers were present. The lumen of the host intestine was obstructed, and compressed villi were present. The trunk of the worm damaged intestinal epithelium near the crypts, causing localized inflammation. The caryophyllaeid cestode Isoglaridacris calentinei Mackiewicz, 1974, was present in concurrent infections of C. columbianus.

Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith